Scroll down for NEWS


Tecumseth Free Press Online

Essa Free Press

Click here!

The Evolution of  

Essa Township Free Press Online
The Barrie Examiner
Collingwood Enterprise Bulletin
Orillia Packet and Times

Click here!

The Evolution of  


Click here

Click here and submit local news tips.

Tottenham youngster win's County's 9-1-1 2013 Youth Award

Posted April 10, 2014

Colin Klutz, 7, from Tottenham, is among this year's receipients of the 7th Annual Simcoe County 9-1-1 Management Board Communicator-of-the-Year, Public Safety Communications Team Award, and Youth Award winners to be recognized at a ceremony on April 15th.

The 9-1-1 committee's awards "recognizes the exceptional work of the unsung but essential call-takers, dispatchers, and supervisors in our emergency response system."

Colin will be presented with the 2013 Youth Award.

"In March 2013, Colin called 9-1-1 on behalf of his mother, Claudette, who was choking. The young boy was very helpful in providing his address and details about the incident to the dispatcher, while remaining calm and following instructions," according to this morning's press release. "A volunteer firefighter from New Tecumseth Fire Rescue was the first on scene, followed shortly after by County of Simcoe Paramedic Services, who provided further care and transported Claudette to the hospital. Colin acted bravely, demonstrating maturity beyond his years."

Other winners include:
  • Christine Schultz, representing the Ontario Provincial Police Provincial Communications Centre in North Bay, is the recipient of the 2013 Simcoe County Public Safety Communicator-of-the-Year Award.
  • The winners of the 2013 Simcoe County Public Safety Communications Team Award demonstrated outstanding teamwork and professionalism during a traumatic call for assistance involving an active shooter. Though the incident ended with the loss of two lives, the team of Tracey Lytle and Jennifer Hayes of the OPP Orillia Provincial Communications Centre remained calm and worked together to ensure a co-ordinated response throughout the stressful situation.
Four additional teams are being recognized in this category:
  • The team of Ambar Kottick and Ashley Gray of South Simcoe Police worked together to assist in the identification and apprehension of a robbery suspect following an incident in Stroud.
  • OPP North Bay Provincial Communications Centre team members Melanie Yeates, Jean-Marc Bedard, Melanie Labreche, and Luc Gaudreault for a call involving an accidental self-inflicted gunshot to an elderly male in a remote location.
  • Barrie Police Service team members Mike Gould, Danielle Ballagh, Leanne Boughner, Carolline Graham, Caron Smith, and Christine Atkinson for their work averting a suicide with very limited information.
  • Mary Anne Cousineau, Amanda Wickham, and Carrie Clark-Weatherup of Barrie Fire and Emergency Service for a call involving an urban forest fire and potential hazardous materials incident.
The awards ceremony will take place at the County's Administration Centre in Midhurst beginning at 2 pm.

Click here to send a Letter to the Editor.

Follow madhuntdotcom on Twitter

The Evolution of