Scroll down for NEWS


Tecumseth Free Press Online

Essa Free Press

Click here!

The Evolution of  

Essa Township Free Press Online
The Barrie Examiner
Collingwood Enterprise Bulletin
Orillia Packet and Times

Click here!

The Evolution of  


Click here

Click here and submit local news tips.

Slow pace continues on municipal election front

Posted May 15, 2014

More than a month has passed since anyone filed their intentions to stand for New Tecumseth council, with Wards 4 and 6 still without candidates at this update. So too Ward 7, following incumbent Bruce Haire's withdrawal on April 25th due to health issues.

As it currently stands, deputy mayor Rick Milne and Ward 1 councillor Bob Marrs are running for mayor, while Ward 2 councillor Jamie Smith, and Alliston resident Glen O'Leary are seeking the deputy mayor's seat. Both mayor and deputy mayor also serve as Simcoe County councillors.

Wayne Noye is the only candidate in Ward 1.

Gord McInnes, who finished second in the 2010 campaign, and Laurie Mortimer, are signed up in Ward 2.

Ward 3 candidates include Rob Glozier and Cam Simone. The incumbent, Paul Whiteside has not yet declared his intentions.

Incumbent Donna Jebb is seeking reelection in Ward 5. And, in Ward 8, former councillor Jess Prothero, and Chris Ross are in the race. Incumbent Jim Stone has not declared his intentions. Jason Frezell withdrew his name on April 25th.

On the school board front, both incumbents, Nicole Barnett-Black, public school trustee, and Clayton Ferguson, Catholic board, are the only candidates registered.

Nominations close Fri., Sept. 12 at 2 pm. Election day is Oct. 27. The council term is four years.

Click here to send a Letter to the Editor.

Follow madhuntdotcom on Twitter

The Evolution of